The Hard-boiled Detective Novel’s History and Development


Add to cart
Essay #: 052394
Total text length is 67,117 characters (approximately 46.3 pages).

Excerpts from the Paper

The beginning:
The Hard-boiled Detective Novel’s History and Development
This paper is a brief history of the development of hard-boiled detective novels. The essay will discuss three notable authors – Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett and John Latimer - who contributed to the genre; offer information about their influences; briefly discuss some of the landmark novels in the genre; and, assess the main characters or protagonists whom embodied the genre for better or for worse. Before getting into a debate about those three, however, the paper will start things off by discussing Edgar Allan Poe – arguably the man who made the American detective novel possible in the first place. Ultimately, what this paper should reveal is that the works of both Chandler...
The end:
Selected novels:
Murder in the Madhouse, 1935 
Headed for a Hearse, 1935 - film: The Westland Case, dir. by Christy Cabanne (1937) - Suuntana sähkötuoli (suom. Tapani Bagge) 
The Lady in the Morgue, 1936 - film: The Lady in the Morgue, dir. by Otis Garrett (1938) - Vain yksi on joukosta poissa (suom. J.S. Helander) 
The Search for My Great Uncle's Head, 1937 (as Peter Coffin) 
The Dead Don't Care, 1938 - film: The Last Warning, dir. by Al Rogell (1938) 
Red Gardenias, 1939 
Dark Memory, 1940 
Solomon's Vineyard, 1941 (as The Fifth Grave in 1950; somewhat bowdlerized) 
The Fifth Grave, 1950 - Viides hauta (trans. by Aune Suomalainen) 
Sinners and Shrouds, 1955 
Black is the Fashion for Dying, 1959 (as The Mink-Linen Coffin in 1960)