The Five Stages of Mitosis


Add to cart
Essay #: 071923
Total text length is 5,500 characters (approximately 3.8 pages).

Excerpts from the Paper

The beginning:
The Five Stages of Mitosis
Cells are the basis of all living things. When normal cells become damaged or old, they die and are replaced by new cells. For reasons not yet fully understood, sometimes the genetic material in cells changes or becomes damaged, producing mutations that become cancer cells. Mitosis, a process of cell reproduction that produces identical daughter cells, is briefly discussed in its five phases of
, prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and
, with an overview of how cancer cells are formed. Risk factors for the three most common forms of cancer and a comparative rate of cancer cell growth, based on lab results and research, are noted. Understanding how cells divide and reproduce is essential...
The end:
.....ty of Illinois at Chicago. Retrieved November 1, 2011 from <>
National Cancer Institute. (2011). What is cancer? National Institutes of Health. Retrieved November 1, 2011 from <>
, K. (April, 2011). Chapter 4: Cellular reproduction: Multiplication by division. Inside the Cell. National Institutes of Health, National Institute of General Medical Sciences. Retrieved November 1, 2011 from <>
Virtual Lab. (2011). Cell Reproduction. Retrieved November 1, 2011 from <>