Music Appreciation 4: Music in the Classical Period (1750-1820)


Add to cart
Essay #: 062230
Total text length is 13,230 characters (approximately 9.1 pages).

Excerpts from the Paper

The beginning:
Music Appreciation 4: Music in the Classical Period (1750-1820)
Listening Essay Questions
1. The Sonata form comes in three movements that make up one whole movement, the exposition, development and recapitulation. In the exposition stage, the theme of the piece is presented, then they are developed in new ways in the development stage. In the recapitulation stage, the themes are concluded in fast movements, typically. The coda follows that finalizes the piece.
Mozart’s symphony No. 40 in G Minor opens rapidly in the exposition and the feeling is definitely tense at first with the violin sounds. Then, as the theme develops, the whole melody changes and the woodwinds (flutes) and strings give it an overall softer tone color and higher...
The end:
..... a stand-alone piece. The symphony also has typical patterns in that each movement has its own unique style, but this is not always the case. For example, the first movement is usually in sonata form, the second is usually in sonata form but variations come in here as well. The third movement usually a minuet and trio and the fourth is either in sonata or rondo form.
e. concerto (classical versus Baroque)- a classical concerto is a three-movement work that is meant to show off a soloists work in a particular instrument, but the orchestra is also important as a backup to the soloist. Mozart and Beethoven are known for their classical concerto compositions.
Kamien, R. (2008). Music An Appreciation, 6th Edition. New York: McGraw Hill