Children’s Literature: Developmental Stages


Add to cart
Essay #: 065004
Total text length is 5,733 characters (approximately 4.0 pages).

Excerpts from the Paper

The beginning:
Children’s Literature: Developmental Stages
Children go through a number of developmental stages. Erik Erikson suggests that there are eight states of development that all people go through. In each of these stages there is a crisis that the individual must resolve to move on to the next stage (Greene and
, 2009, p.77).
Children’s literature can be used to try to teach what they need to move through these developmental stages. For example, “Using Children’s Literature to Teach Social Skills” Katherine L.
argues, “As a tool for teaching, stories provide easy and creative introductions to a topic” (
, 1998). For example, if you wanted to teach children about diversity, you can use books like David’s Drawings that show...
The end:
.....attitudes that will allow them to pass through 3 of Erikson’s developmental stages.
Bang, M. (1999). When Sophie Gets Angry…Really, Really Angry….Blue Sky Press.
, S. (2000). Character education through children’s literature. ERIC Clearinghouse. Retrieved from
, K.L. (1998). Using children’s literature to teach social skills. Reading Rockets. Retrieved from
, C. (2001). David’s Drawings. Lee and Low Books.
Greene, R.R. and
, N. (2009). Human
Theory. Transaction Publishers.
, M. (2009). Handy Manny: Oscar’s House of Smoothies. Disney Press.
. (1976).Blueberries for Sal. Puffin.